Ep 24 – Feng Jicai and Faces in the Crowd

“I have lived in Tianjin my whole life, and I know its people, with their toughness and competitive streak, their generosity, their determination to be respected, and their refusal to back down. When I illustrate them, it is these qualities I draw.”

In the twenty fourth episode of The Translated Chinese Fiction Podcast, we are looking at Feng Jicai’s Faces in the Crowd (俗世奇人 / Súshì Qírén)

This is the first time on the show that I’m looking at an illustrated book. Each chapter is a ‘sketch’ of one of old colonial Tianjin’s more quirky characters. They’re all drawn from local legends, and add up to create a really immersive wander through a bygone era.

Publishers: EN – Sinoist Books // CN – People’s Literature Publishing House

Feng Jicai on Paper Republic

Olivia Milburn on Paper Republic

// NEWS ITEMS //

// Handy TrChFic Links //

Buy Me a Coffee

Bonus Shows on Patreon 

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // DISCORD

Leave a comment