Ep 90 – The Dream of the Red Chamber with Annie Qu

I felt that in action and in lore, one and all were far above me; that in spite of the majesty of my manliness, I could not, in point of fact, compare with these characters of the gentle sex

Share your feedback by email: thetranslatedchinesefictionpodcast@outlook

As this show draws only ten episodes short of its ascent to heavenly hiatus, let us call down from those lofty vapours a sad and beautiful tale, a story of a stone, The Dream of the Red Chamber. Musing with me in the aristocratic compound is another host: Annie Qu, a genuine Bilibili literati. Much like Cao Xueqin, I considered myself lucky to be in the presence of such a refined lady, as we discussed the continuing relevance of this classic of classics to ideas of high culture, gender norms, and all the frivolous imaginings we spend our brief lives upon.

// NEWS ITEMS //

// WORD OF THE DAY //

(美 – měi – beauty/aesthetics)

// MENTIONED IN THE EPISODE //

// Handy TrChFic Links //

Help Support TrChFic // Episode Transcripts
INSTAGRAM 🪨 TWITTER 🪨 DISCORD

Leave a comment