Ep 7 – Ding Ling and the Diary of Miss Sophie

“I was so angry I wanted to weep, but I laughed aloud.”

In the seventh episode of The Translated Chinese Fiction Podcast, we are looking at: The Diary of Miss Sophie (莎菲女士的日记/Shāfēi Nǚshì de Rìjì)

This is a very personal journey of ‘Miss Sophie’, an outspoken woman navigating all the questions modern life in early 20th century, May Fourth Movement era China is throwing at her. It’s frigging fascinating.

// Discussed in this Episode //

The translation I read is from the Beacon Press edition of I Myself am a Woman: Selected Writings of Ding Ling.

In Quest of the Writer Ding Ling by Yi-Tsi Mei Feuerwerker

// Handy TrChFic Links //

Buy Me a Coffee

Bonus Shows on Patreon 

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // DISCORD //

One thought on “Ep 7 – Ding Ling and the Diary of Miss Sophie

Leave a comment